Author Topic: VERY beginner on this investment thing, international situation  (Read 5263 times)

JoanOfSnark

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
VERY beginner on this investment thing, international situation
« on: September 23, 2014, 06:20:18 AM »
So, this might be less "showing me how to fish" and more "explaining the basic concept of a fish-hook before we can even START with that fishing business" but...

I have been working for about 5 years, and since I've always lived significantly below my means, I have a good bit stashed away. Currently it stands at about 19K USD and 30K EUR. Yeah, I'm rocking the dual-currencies... I worked for a couple of years in the US, and then almost 3 years ago moved to Germany, where I am now a permanent resident but for the time being will retain my US citizenship. Complicated!

Much of the talk I see here revolves around maximizing pretax accounts like 401K and IRAs... which I did when I was in the US, and still HAVE; but due to a weird combination of working for the same parent-company and yet not the same branch or in the same country, I'm neither able to roll these into anything else NOR continue adding to them. Cool. Is there anyone out there familiar with the German system that could point me in a direction of their equivalent? Because I'm American (and banking with Deutsche Bank, if that matters), I am through them ineligible to do anything like a Förderrente or Riesterrente or whatever, because they don't want to have to comply with all the hoops the IRS is lately making banks jump through when it comes to the stock market. So, I can't do ANYTHING that touches the stock market (or mutual funds, by extension), with them at least.