Author Topic: Vanguard Ext Duration Treasury ETF (EDV) good/bad/ok?  (Read 1022 times)

Candyland33

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Vanguard Ext Duration Treasury ETF (EDV) good/bad/ok?
« on: June 02, 2019, 09:54:03 PM »
Anyone has experience with Vanguard Ext Duration Treasury ETF (EDV)?   I'm new to investing and I wanted to start ETF based on Personal Capital and others recommendations. Thank you

CorpRaider

• Bristles
    • The Corpraider Blog
Re: Vanguard Ext Duration Treasury ETF (EDV) good/bad/ok?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2019, 01:27:42 PM »
U could Google it on Bogleheads.  There are several threads discussing it and the potential role it could have in a portfolio.

Andy R

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2019, 07:29:08 PM »
Thank you to @Tyler for writing this up which explains a lot about LT bonds return potential in the current low interest rate environment.
https://portfoliocharts.com/2019/05/27/high-profits-at-low-rates-the-benefits-of-bond-convexity/

And corresponding discussion on bogleheads
https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=282079

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2019, 08:43:47 PM »
I use this for about 5% of our investments (actually ZROZ because that trades free in my employer's broker of choice, but I recommend EDV instead).