Author Topic: Vanguard clarification: Prime Money Market Fund/Settlement Fund  (Read 3690 times)

mrteacher

• Stubble
Vanguard clarification: Prime Money Market Fund/Settlement Fund
« on: September 21, 2016, 04:50:33 PM »
Hi all,

I think I found the answer to my question, but I'd like to check.

I've had a Vanguard account (through which I've been funding my Roth) since 2009. I am able to transfer money directly from my savings account into VFIFX (Target Retirement 2050). To this day, I am still able to make contributions directly to VFIFX.

A friend of mine opened up an account at the beginning of this year and simultaneously had a Money Market/Settlement fund opened for him, into which he must transfer money from his checking account before he can plop it into his Roth IRA investment vehicle of choice.

Is this a new operating procedure for Vanguard? Does the settlement fund simply exist to serve as a 'holding place' for your money? What are the advantages to this system -- in other words, why did Vanguard begin this new wrinkle for new accounts?

Thank you!

Nick_Miller

• Handlebar Stache
  • Location: A sprawling estate with one of those cool circular driveways in the front!
Re: Vanguard clarification: Prime Money Market Fund/Settlement Fund
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2016, 06:18:47 PM »
I noticed this change too.

However I don't understand why the change was made or what purpose the settlement fund serves. Maybe someone else will pipe up!

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2016, 01:25:14 AM »
It's some regulatory bullshit they sent out a letter explains it but I didn't give a crap

BlueHouse

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2016, 04:52:16 AM »
I have multiple funds and accounts with vanguard. Some I deposit directly into (after tax brokerage accounts)