Author Topic: Value of 457b plans  (Read 8319 times)

MustardTiger

• Stubble
Value of 457b plans
« on: August 02, 2014, 09:02:11 AM »
I am a public school teacher, and am eligible to use a 457b retirement plan.  For those not familiar, it is simlar to a 401k, but I can withdraw money without penalty as soon as I leave the job, instead of a set age.  This of course seems like a huge advantage, but the fee's are substantial.  It seems like for a stock index fund you would be paying around 1%, which is significantly higher than you would pay in a vanguard ira.

Are the extra fee's at all worth considering for someone who would be wanting to retire early? 

zataks

• Bristles
Re: Value of 457b plans
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 09:31:14 AM »
Double check but I am almost certain that if you draw your funds prior to retirement age (59.5yrs) you pay a 10 or 20% penalty unless you setup/tae the substantially equal payments plan option just as you would have to do with a 401k.  The biggest different I know of for the 457 vs the 401 is that the 457 is specifically for government employees.  Beyond that and for most practical purposes, they are the same. 

The difference between your 457 and a Vanguard IRA is that the 457 has the same annual contribution limits as a 401k (17.5k) whereas the IRA is 5,500$.  The other benefit of the 457 is that the employer, in addition to paying into your pension, often gives some sort of match for the 457 and often fees are very low as it's a large organization negotiating the fund contract.

Psychstache

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2014, 10:03:44 AM »