Author Topic: Using stock simulator makes stock picking look easy - what am I missing?  (Read 4153 times)

DieHard_772

• Pencil Stache
Hey all,

First a disclaimer: I'm still a relative investing newbie.
 I have been investing in index funds for a little over two years,  I have never bought individual stocks,
not sure I plan to.  I just want to keep learning, so I appreciate the feedback here from experienced people.

At the beginning of 2016, I got a stock simulator for my Android called "Stock Trainer."  It gives you $20,000
to start with, and it tells you what your stock is worth as the market changes.
 I have "bought" shares in the big companies like Google, Coke, Apple, and others...

I have barely sold anything (only some of my Netflix when it went up 40% and I wanted to lock in the gains, and one
other random stock that I bought on impulse--and got rid of on impulse to when it seemed like a dud).

Today I am up about 22%, which feels pretty good.  I know for sure my index funds are not up 22% for the
equivalent amount of time.

Did I just get lucky?  Is the simulator missing extra fees and taxes?  (the fee is worked into the original stock purchase, and
there is no mention of taxes)  I hear people all the time say that it's hard to pick winners.  I have mainly
stuck to the established leaders.  What are the pitfalls to stock picking that I am not seeing with the
simulator?

Any feedback or perspective is appreciated to help me learn more about the world of investing.

Thanks

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
At one time owning Eastman Kodak seemed as good as owning google/apple/netflix/etc today, you can get really big losses very easily that wipe out modest gains.

The 'simulator' may also be missing your reaction it it were real money, would you have sold if XYZ went down 15% but let it ride because it is not real money?

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
I have barely sold anything

What you are describing is a buy and hold strategy with individual stocks.