Author Topic: UK equivalent of index funds  (Read 7993 times)

rusnat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
UK equivalent of index funds
« on: November 23, 2015, 09:47:27 AM »
Hi, apologies if my question is totally stupid. I'm a complete novice in investing and trying to learn a thing or two. MMM mentions index funds a lot. I tried reading about them in the UK but can't find anything. What do they call them in the UK? Where can I read more about this? Thanks in advance.

cerat0n1a

• Handlebar Stache
Re: UK equivalent of index funds
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 10:43:14 AM »
There are plenty of index funds in the UK - ones which track the FTSE-100, or the FTSE All Share index. Or you can invest in index funds elsewhere (eg the US) while living in the UK. You can invest in these through an ISA, or directly (an ISA has tax advantages). They are usually called things like FTSE trackers, but index fund is commonly used too. Lots of companies offer them, but with different levels of charges, which is quite important.

I'd suggest spending some time reading websites like monevator and UK version of motley fool to learn more, but asking here will work too. The only stupid question is the one you don't ask....

http://monevator.com/how-to-buy-index-trackers/

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 11:13:00 AM »
Mutual funds, and ETFs.

Look up HUKX.L, VEUR.L, etc.

vanguard.co.uk

Open an ISA with the most sensible fee structure for you (there is a list somewhere, probably on monevator).

frugledoc

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 11:24:31 AM »
Hi rusnet, I would highly recommend www.monevator.com which has all the info you require.

My favoured ETF is VWRL which is the vanguard all world index ETF. 

It is usually best to buy index ETFs than mutual funds in the UK because the later attract a hefty platform charge.

rusnat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2015, 12:34:48 PM »