Author Topic: UK based investing in government ISA (20k per year tax free). Sell everything?  (Read 1862 times)

bthewalls

• Bristles
Hi all,
pretty new to all of this so sorry if this has been done to death.... I have decided to ask opinion rather than spend 6 months reading and going in circles (I have been doing alot of this over the last month).....

I'm UK based, our tax free government tax free structure is called an 'ISA', you can put 20K a year into stock/share/EFT/bonds per year tax free.

Wonder what the general opinion is on selling rental property now and dumping it ALL into vanguard VUSA or similiar? the throught of it/risk scares the crap out of me, as I am new to this concept. I do understand that in 15-20 years current buy prices dont matter that much and just get in now.....struggling with it though....!

Baz

never give up

• Walrus Stache
  • Kindness is free to give and priceless to receive
Hi. There’s lots of UK specific info on the UK tax board. We don’t just talk about tax there. It’s worth having a read through some of the posts there. It’s great to ask people on here but there is no substitute for doing your own research. No one cares more about your finances than you.

You don’t mention your goals or what you are trying to achieve. The fund you refer to is 100% US stocks. I’m not aware of too many UK based people that would have their investments structured like that. Generally we tend to invest globally to diversify and add a bond element to the mix too. Your asset allocation between stocks, bonds, cash should be set so you feel comfortable. There is no point in having a strategy that scares you. That’s the wrong strategy. You can of course invest over time. You don’t need to invest all at once if that doesn’t feel good to you.

I would recommend reading the JL Collins stock series and Monevator is an excellent UK resource too.

bthewalls

• Bristles
Will do. Thanks.