Author Topic: Transferred IRA from EJ to Vanguard- major fees now  (Read 3020 times)

FireAnt

• Bristles
Transferred IRA from EJ to Vanguard- major fees now
« on: November 06, 2018, 07:10:21 PM »
With the great advice of this forum, I got out of EJ and transferred my Trad IRA, Roth IRA, and joint mutual accounts to Vanguard. One step at a time, I am trying to get each account sorted out. I'm interested in the lifecycle/targeted funds so it's hands off for me as I'm a beginner, specifically looking at the 2045 target. Today is Trad IRA day :)

I copied and pasted the accounts that I am in currently. In speaking with Vanguard, because these are not Vanguard accounts I'm going to be charged a back end fee, on top of the initial transfer fee. Turns out the fee amount is 1% for each account due to having to sell then exchange, which seems pricey. Curious about any input on whether it's even worth transferring. Should I suck it up and go for it, or is it better to stand pat given the fees? If it is worth the conversion, is it better to do it right away, or wait for a down market day?

Mutual funds
AFICX   American Funds Fundamental Investors® Class C    1.40%

FHICX   Federated High-Income Bond Fund Class C Shares    1.74%

FGFCX   Federated International Leaders Fund Class C Shares    2.17%

GONCX   John Hancock Funds International Growth Fund Class C    1.99%

HBLCX   The Hartford Balanced Income Fund Class C    1.68%

« Last Edit: November 06, 2018, 07:39:41 PM by italianant »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Transferred IRA from EJ to Vanguard- major fees now
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2018, 07:30:33 PM »
It's the "Class C" attribute that is causing the problem.  See The Difference Between Classes A, B, and C.

Perhaps the EJ salesperson neglected to explain that?

FireAnt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2018, 07:46:16 PM »
It's the "Class C" attribute that is causing the problem.  See The Difference Between Classes A, B, and C.