Author Topic: To commute or not to commute (your pension value)?  (Read 40269 times)

Joan-eh?

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
To commute or not to commute (your pension value)?
« on: December 28, 2014, 07:04:19 AM »
I would be interested in hearing about how people have made decisions to commute (or not) their pension values.  I am in canada, and we sure do have unusual rules.

I have been humming over this question for 11 years, but must decide in 5 months.

What I know:

Total value/ lump sum: 350,000
200,000 goes to a LIRA (50% can be unlocked and moved to RRSP) eventually what is left has to be turned into annuity.
150,000 is taxed at 30% at least
We have full TFSA room for 70,000 of the 100,000 CASH. The remainder makes us almost mortgage free.  Hubby has fully funded RRSP in 30 years work.
I have another pension at my current work, which will be lucrative.

Reasons to keep the pension?  It is fully indexed to inflation. I'm healthy- so far. No worries.
reasons to commute the value? Somewhat more flexibility for withdrawal (or not).  A move toward losing most of the principal amount at death. (Which will be the case in my other pension)

I'm not sure I can "beat" the pension payouts with my own investing because of inflation (boy, it's killer!)

How to make this decision? What was/is your experience?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2014, 09:23:47 PM by Joan-eh? »

BPA

• Handlebar Stache
Re: To commute or not to commute (your pension value)?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2014, 07:11:46 AM »
One of my worries is that younger members of the industry are paying in more than I have and will receive less in benefits at the end.  I wouldn't blame them at all for advocating reduction in benefits for those already retired. 

Also, I have no spouse, so once I kick it, the money is gone.

So, I am taking my commuted value. 

Mine is worth about what yours is.  :)

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2014, 03:53:14 PM »