Author Topic: TIAA vs Valic vs Voya  (Read 14769 times)

dwell

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
TIAA vs Valic vs Voya
« on: June 16, 2016, 08:24:52 PM »
Hello all,

I am newbie here!  Currently I am enrolled in a defined contribution plan with the vendor TIAA.  I have been getting serious about contributing more to my retirement accounts, and have been looking to lower the expense ratios on the funds that I currently have.  Right now, I have a 2055 Target Fund at TIAA with an expense ratio of .65%/.44% (Gross/Net).  With the other two vendors, I would have access to the Vanguard 2055 Fund at a much lower expense ratio of .16%.  I really believe that switching to one of the other companies will benefit me financially in the long run, but I am really unsure of which one to go with.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

EDIT: And now I realize I should have posted this in the Advice section.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2016, 08:47:23 PM by dwell »

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
Re: TIAA vs Valic vs Voya
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2016, 09:01:00 PM »
Ask if there are any additional fees associated with Voya and Valic. There could be: annual fees, wrap fees, mortality and expense charges. You want to have all fees and expenses associated with the other vendors to be identified and listed. The mutual fund expense ratio may be all there is. But you want to make sure.

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2016, 09:30:41 PM »
I'd be surprised if Voya offers low fee funds - they tend to use 1% expense ratio funds, and those TV ads you see for them are paid through 0.25% of marketing fees they charge investors in their funds.  It's possible, but be wary.

Does your plan provide a company match?  A bonus of +25% or +50% of contributions, up to a limit?  Make sure you get all of the company matching, then consider alternatives.