Author Topic: Thinking Bubbles?  (Read 10143 times)

AdrianM

• Stubble
Thinking Bubbles?
« on: May 18, 2012, 03:32:36 PM »
All the gold bubble talk got me thinking.

What or how do you define if an asset is in a bubble?
Now I don personally don't think gold is in a bubble, but I am always willing to challenge my assumptions.

My personal opinion.
Gold will eventually end up in a bubble, but we are not there yet.

A quick search of Google for what are the signs of a bubble. Gives me the following 5 signs.
1. Asset prices increase like a rocket.
2. Even the general public talks about investing in it.
3. Everyone is a winner.
4. people who did not invest before invest now.
5. This time is different syndrome.

The only one I could say yes or maybe to is number 1 all the rest are a no.

AJ

• Pencil Stache
Re: Thinking Bubbles?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2012, 04:18:47 PM »

I'm not a gold expert by any means, but I see 1 through 4 as all being true. At least #2 for sure. Heck, there are sleazy commercials playing all the time trying to get folks to invest in gold. I know lots of folks who are worried about our financial system collapsing are investing heavily in gold. That is probably always true, but there are a lot more of them after 2008. I don't know enough to say with confidence gold is in a bubble, but I certainly would be surprised if it wasn't.

Lars

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2012, 04:20:02 PM »
All the gold bubble talk got me thinking.

in hindsight. :)

I find it fascinating how difficult it is to answer that question except in hindsight both in history and personally. Even if odds are excellent it is above its "fair value" price it appears impossible to predict just how high it will go and how long it will last. Even betting against them is perilous, since although it will eventually fall 75% from the current price, it might double or triple before than happens and take longer than you can afford.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian