Author Topic: The Great Bond Bubble  (Read 12320 times)

tomsang

• Handlebar Stache

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: The Great Bond Bubble
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 07:46:31 AM »
I'm usually not a fan of Todd Tresidder, but he's spot on here.

This idea has actually been in the news quite a bit lately, with several interviews with Jeremy Siegel saying that bonds are more risky than stocks right now.

Example:
http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2013/02/11/bonds-so-much-more-dangerous-than-you-think.aspx
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Done by Forty

• Stubble
    • Done by Forty
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 08:10:15 AM »
We have been putting our "next home" savings in VSCGX (60% total bond market fund, 28% total stock market fund, 12% total international stock fund).  Our timeframe to use it to purchase a home would be about 5 years. It currently represents a significant part of our net worth (roughly 20%).

In your opinion, do you think this is not the right place to put these funds given this timeframe? 

Lagom

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2013, 09:24:04 AM »
I know less than most on this board, but I would not be comfortable with that mix at the moment. In fact, it seems to me that almost all traditional short term savings options right now are far riskier than what is historically normal and/or give attrocious returns. My wife and I are also on a 5 year plan to buy a home and I really have no idea what to do with the savings other than stick it in an online bank at a paltry 0.9% rate. But maybe I need to be talked into trusting bonds more...