Author Topic: The effect of Tesla being added to the S&P 500. Our Index funds...  (Read 11603 times)

3toesloth

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: The effect of Tesla being added to the S&P 500. Our Index funds...
« Reply #100 on: January 04, 2021, 10:54:24 AM »
Why does everyone get so emotional here, I thought this was an investing forum?
The fire thing is a fact all cars are capable of bursting into flames and I never said otherwise. Making car doors incapable of opening when said fire starts is what I was saying is a bad idea.
I have a Ram 1500 tradesman and a motorcycle. The Ram was cheapest smallest most simple pickup available at the time and probably still is. I said least amount of computerization not no computers. I'm an engineer I know it's impossible and unwise to rely on outdated tech when new is cheaper and more reliable. I also know it is equally unwise to use state of the art largely untested tech for systems where life and limb are on the line.

To get back to the S&P. My thesis is that by any measure the S&P is very overvalued, 2x or so. When Tesla inevitably falls back to something approaching normal it will either be part of a larger overall market correction or it will cause the correction. We have an entire generation that has yet to be invested during a major downturn (early 2020 doesn't really count). The fact that the S&P 500 committee wavered on adding Tesla may indicate that they are essentially acting as active managers, which should give passive investors some concern. What other active decisions are they making that we don't know about?
I'm sticking to bond funds as much as possible for the next few years with a very little VTSAX added. Give me my low but average reliable returns over huge swings any day. After all that is why people buy passive funds to begin with (and the low fees).

mistymoney

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #101 on: January 04, 2021, 11:43:36 AM »