Author Topic: The effect of Tesla being added to the S&P 500. Our Index funds...  (Read 11576 times)

Jack0Life

• Pencil Stache
I'm no expert on the subject so I want all the gurus to chime in as this will greatly affect most people who's investments are all on Indexes.
This is the gist of what I'm thinking. I might be totally off base here.
Speculators are driving up Tesla in anticipation of Tesla being added to the SP500 knowing that by Dec 18th, all these portfolios will have to add Tesla to their funds. We are talking about ~$100 billions here.
So after Dec 21st when Tesla are added to all the Index funds, it it going to plunge because speculators will sell off ??
Is it wise for us to move all our Index funds to the sideline by the 18th and let the Index settle down ??
A good comparison would be Yahoo in 1999 when it's share jumped up 64% before being added to the SP500 and then afterward the SP500 funds suffered. I know I know it's Yahoo but they didn't decline till years later.
What do you guys think ??
« Last Edit: November 30, 2020, 11:48:50 AM by Jack0Life »

joleran

• Bristles
Re: The effect of Tesla being added to the S&P 500. Our Index funds...
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2020, 11:53:32 AM »
Well, now I know that you know that speculators know that they know they will sell off because they know a big spike will happen on joining the index, but other people know that I know that you know.

Tongue in cheek, but the market is full of stories starting with "look at this clear and predicable pattern, I'm sure to win!" and ending in "I guess it was already priced in".

In short, fighting potential volatility potentially produced from speculation with meta-speculation doesn't seem like the best approach.

HPstache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2020, 11:57:26 AM »
I'm no expert on the subject so I want all the gurus to chime in as this will greatly affect most people who's investments are all on Indexes.