Author Topic: Tell me which Vanguard 401k options to choose!  (Read 6581 times)

haflander

• Bristles
Tell me which Vanguard 401k options to choose!
« on: August 02, 2017, 09:39:33 AM »
Thanks in advance. I'm taking a new job and just got all of the fun 401k info. I'm very new to Mustachianism but one of my biggest takeaways thus far is to carefully analyze everything with #s; don't just do the easy, emotional, or popular thing. That being said, I still don't know anything about investing other than what I've learned here in past monthish about expense ratios, index funds, and Vanguard as the best. If you want to learn a little background about myself and/or the job change for some reason check out my other post here:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/who-works-from-home-career-advice/

I want to start out picking the right 401k funds instead of having to change later. I'm starting with saving 13%, but plan to increase this to 15, 20, etc as I start implementing Mustachian principles until I reach the 18,000 limit or whatever the limit is at that time.

Below I've listed my Vanguard options as well as their #s. I'm guessing a lot of you know about these specific funds and hold bookoo bucks in them yourselves. I think if I was doing this a year ago, I would have just picked the 2060 target fund; so obviously I'm a young guy :) My first impression about FIRE is that I don't care much about ER (could change), but I DO care about FI. That being said, let's just assume my FIRE date is waaaaay in the future. If I was picking these myself without your help, I'd probably do 50/50 VFIAX/VMVAX after looking at the below #s. I've listed 5 year data instead of 10 year, because half of them have an inception date of 2011/2012, after the recession. There are also several non-Vanguard options with worse returns and expense ratios, such as Lord Abbett, BlackRock, American Funds, DFA US (multiple options for each).