Author Topic: Telefonica - good to go or stay away?  (Read 11495 times)

tooqk4u22

• Magnum Stache
Telefonica - good to go or stay away?
« on: April 10, 2012, 02:02:13 PM »
Telefonica is so beaten up because of Europe and some other issues including moderately high leverage, slowing growth, and speculated dividend cut (even a big cut would still produce a good yield at current levels).

Anybody have any thoughts. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Telefonica - good to go or stay away?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 06:02:15 PM »
My thought is a general one, not to do with Telefonica in particular.

Here goes, and no offense intended.

Do you know something everyone else doesn't know?  If not, if you're basing your analysis on public information, what makes you think it isn't already factored into the price?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

astadt

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 04:10:30 AM »
I own them, though im not trying to make a quick buck but recognize that they are a huge company that should continue to do well for years and years (and I get a 10% yield)

tooqk4u22

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 08:08:17 AM »
arebelspy - no offense taken but you are either saying the market is rigged by insiders (which ins some degree i think it is) or you are saying the market is completely rational (which is not the case).  Companies can be over or undervalued at any time for any number of reasons - if that were not the case then Warren Buffett would not be where he is today.