Author Topic: Teacher Couple Investing for Retirement at 55  (Read 4557 times)

BrendanP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Teacher Couple Investing for Retirement at 55
« on: October 17, 2016, 07:03:44 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I'm somewhat new to MMM - discovered it over the summer, and spent many hours reading the postings and comments. I really enjoy the philosophy, however I'm not looking for early retirement per se, as my wife and both enjoy our careers teaching in NYC public schools and trying to improve society around us.

What I am trying to do is to understand how to best take advantage of the investment opportunities available to us. I would appreciate any suggestions that people can offer us. 

Our major goal is to retire at age 55 in 20 years (likely teaching in NYC during that entire period). At that time we will be mortgage free and both able to receive pensions (NYS tax-free) - worth roughly 50% of our final salaries which would be about 60K each.  We also will be eligible for SS in the future.

Investments:.

Roth IRA - Currently funding both with 11K per year

TDA-403b - funding with about 25K of 36K per year total.
The money can be split between 5 different options-one of which is a 7% fixed rate. Also no NYS/NYC taxes when disbursed (we plan on retiring in NY)

457 - literally just found out about this option this past week.  We can put in up to 36K per year between us. Unsure of plan availability yet.

Additional Thoughts:
-Unfortunately we cannot afford to max out all 3 of these accounts as that would be around 50% of our income which is too much.
-Concerned about the time between age 55 and age 59.5 when we can get Roth IRA disbursements.
-Slightly concerned that in the future they could reduce our pension benefits, so I don't want to have to rely on them too much.

Thanks in advance!

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
Re: Teacher Couple Investing for Retirement at 55
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2016, 09:02:00 PM »