Author Topic: taxable/roth/roth401k AA  (Read 4619 times)

kk1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
taxable/roth/roth401k AA
« on: July 13, 2013, 06:16:59 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm new here! Good to meet you all.

Everyone seems so knowledgeable when I am reading investor alley posts. So I was thinking to put my AA down to see about advise from everyone. I'm new to investing too(well, truly wanting to do DCA that is). I haven't pull the trigger on Roth or my taxable account yet... Oh I'm not sure if it makes a huge difference but my Roth and Taxable are both with TD Ameritrade.

Background: I'm in my late 20s. I have no debt except the mortgage. Well I'm not quite paying for the mortgage though because the house is rented to others with me living in it - it covers mortgage/insurance/property taxes but I've been contributing $270/month extra on top of what my mortgage payment. I have about $14K in savings account for emergency.

My job gives 401K/Roth 401K as benefit with $1200 annual contribution by the company. I have to contribute at least $1200 to get the $1200 from the company.

Roth 401K   $17K
Large Cap  30%
2055 Portfolio(it's vanguard)  70%

Roth $12K
Vanguard REIT Index ETF (VNQ)  20%
Vanguard Mid-Cap Value ETF (VOE)   40%
Vanguard Small Cap Value ETF (VBR)  40%

Taxable $33K
Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF (VTI)  60%
Vanguard FTSE All-World ex-US ETF(VEU)  40%

I picked all commission free ETFs from TD.
I have not contributed my $5,500 for 2013 Roth yet, which I can transfer from Taxable account to the Roth account before I take the plunge for these AA. After I set up these AA, I will set up DRIP which is transaction fee free from what I was told by TD. I will need to find out how to do DCA on a monthly basis to the taxable account.

I've been trying to get the investing books from the library to really learn but seems like everyone else has the same idea in this city!

Anyway, thank you for your advise!
« Last Edit: July 13, 2013, 06:20:40 PM by kk1 »

matchewed