Author Topic: Taxable vs. 401K for early retirement  (Read 31602 times)

JoeB313

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taxable vs. 401K for early retirement
« on: March 03, 2013, 08:28:09 PM »
Hi everyone,
This seems to be a somewhat common question on investment sites, but I cannot seem to figure out which way to go.  I am relatively new to investing and plan to make the plunge into the markets within the next coming weeks

A little background:
I’m 24, soon to be 25 years old and making 55k pre-taxes.  I plan to save ~50%-60% of my income (for now) with hopes of an early retirement (somewhere in my 30s or 40s).  I am hoping to maintain my expenses or lower them over time and will hopefully see an increase in pay as I progress in my career.  I plan to max out a Roth on a yearly basis, but am having trouble deciding how to allocate the rest of my money.  I currently contribute 6% to my 401k to get my employers 3% match.

Here are the options that I’m considering:

1)   Max out 401k in addition to Roth IRA every year – invest the remainder in a taxable Total Stock Market Index Fund Vanguard Account.
2)   Max out Roth IRA every year and only contribute 401k to match.  Open Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares at Vanguard with some savings that I have and contribute leftover savings after Roth to this account and eventually diversify with Foreign Stock Index and Bond Funds (in 401k and Roth for maximum tax efficiency ofc).

For the sake of early retirement, I am tempted to go with option 2.  However, I am worried that I will be selling myself short in the long run by not maxing out the 401k and letting the money grow tax free.  But then I ask myself – what about being able to take advantage of tax loss harvesting and the fact that I would have to take the tax hit when I withdraw my 401k funds.  Would the long-term realized gains in my taxable accounts be equivalent to the tax hit I would take when withdrawing my 401k funds anyway?