Author Topic: Taxable Account, large sum of money- how to invest  (Read 1601 times)

Ready2Save27

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Taxable Account, large sum of money- how to invest
« on: April 06, 2019, 07:29:54 AM »
Hi,

I am just getting into the workforce and have some investing questions. I’ve read over the investment order, and plan to max out my 401k and IRA, but will have a lot of money left over as my living expenses are minimal for the next 4-5 years. I have no debt, and have $20k+ to invest plus whatever is left over from my salary (probably ~$20k after expenses and maxing 401k). So my questions are:
-How does investing in a taxable account work? How is it different than investing in a 401k in terms of taxes?
-I am a little hesitant to invest a lot of money since the market has been doing well for so long, but I know you can’t time the market. So I was thinking about investing some money each month (maybe $2-3k, and ramping it up if the market goes “on sale” (such as during a recession). I was also considering putting it all in at once. If I did this and the market crashed, how would it affect my long term wealth? Which strategy would you recommend?

I plan to have a portfolio of 90%-100% stocks since I am younger, all in one or two Vanguard index funds.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Taxable Account, large sum of money- how to invest
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2019, 09:18:07 AM »
So my questions are:
-How does investing in a taxable account work? How is it different than investing in a 401k in terms of taxes?