Author Topic: Tax Loss Harvesting on ~$25k (Betterment)  (Read 4394 times)

thef0x

• Stubble
Tax Loss Harvesting on ~$25k (Betterment)
« on: December 01, 2015, 09:03:40 AM »
I'm wondering about using Betterment for their tax-loss harvesting services.  I think it would end up costing under $100/year.

Would I end up saving a significant amount of money on taxes each year?  (We are talking over $200 USD).

I'm doing a very boring, set it and forget it, EFT/IndexFund strategy with $0 in comissions through Schwab.

Could anyone give me a rough range of $$ saved each year? 

Does it matter how much I'm contributing to the account on a yearly basis?

I'm pretty new to this specifically but am a quick learner.

Appreciate all your help!!

Thanks!
-Denny
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 09:07:16 AM by thef0x »

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Ta Loss Harvesting on ~$25k (Betterment)
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 09:08:55 AM »
In an average year, the market goes up, so you would save very little (if any) money on your taxes from loss harvesting. Even in a bad year, the most you can deduct is a net loss of $3,000. Multiply that amount by your tax rate and that's the most you can expect to save.

Also, there's nothing magic about loss harvesting. You can do it yourself by looking at your account every month or two, checking if any of your funds have gone down since you bought them, and selling them if so. The robo-advisors have the advantage of being able to check more often than a human would, but past a certain point the potential returns diminish considerably.

thef0x

• Stubble
Re: Tax Loss Harvesting on ~$25k (Betterment)
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 09:13:23 AM »
Wonderful, thanks for your reply.

So takeaways from your response:

• If I'm in a 15% tax bracket, my max savings will be $450 and that's IF I can generate $3000 worth of loses / year (which is dubious).