Author Topic: Tax Loss Harvesting  (Read 5181 times)

felizcortez

• Stubble
Tax Loss Harvesting
« on: December 07, 2015, 01:50:16 PM »
I have about 12k of short term capital losses in VTIAX at Vanguard that I'm considering doing some Tax Loss Harvesting on before the end of the year to offset some short term capital gains and carry over for a few years.

I've never done TLH before so I'm looking for some recommendation on which fund to use to replace VTIAX.  After 31 days I'd transfer back into VTIAX from whatever fund I move into.

SuperSecretName

• Bristles
Re: Tax Loss Harvesting
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 02:09:37 PM »
VFWAX

johnny847

• Magnum Stache
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 02:13:07 PM »
The replacement fund cannot be "substantially identical". The IRS has never specified what "substantially identical" actually means, but most people generally regard two funds that track different indices not to be substantially identical.

At Vanguard, a good choice is VFWAX, which tracks the FTSE All World ex US index, as opposed to VTIAX's FTSE Global All Cap ex US index.
VFWAX doesn't hold small caps. If this concerns you, you can buy VFSVX (VSS for the ETF) which tracks the FTSE All World Ex US Small Cap index. Hold VFWAX:VFSVX in a 9:1 ratio.

However, I highly recommend NOT switching back to VTIAX if there are any unrealized gains in VFWAX. If you did switch back in this scenario, then you would experience some capital gains, reducing the benefit of your tax loss harvest. Just keep holding VFWAX (and keep buying VFWAX, not VTIAX. Otherwise this can complicate future TLH because you can run into a situation where you need a 3rd TLH substitute). It's performance will be nearly identical to VTIAX.

felizcortez

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2015, 08:22:14 AM »