Author Topic: Target Retirement Date fund or Index fund?  (Read 9333 times)

ReluctantMillennial

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Target Retirement Date fund or Index fund?
« on: December 29, 2015, 12:51:26 PM »
Hi all -

I'm in the middle of making some changes to my 401(k).  When I started my career four years ago, I just picked the target retirement date that coincided with my (at the time) retirement age.  I've been throwing money into a 2050 target date fund for the last four years and have quite a bit of change built up in there.  I was just reviewing my contributions and clicked on the available funds.  One thing I do not care for:  the expense ratio is 0.46% on my current fund.  An option for me is a BlackRock US Equity Index Fund, with an expense ratio of 0.02%.  I know MMM is a fan of just plain old index funds, and the expense ratio seems right to me.  My instinct is to move my money into that fund and out of the 2050 target date.  Does anybody have any input about why I shouldn't do that?  I appreciate your help; these forums have some of the smartest folks on the internet.  Happy New Year to you all!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2015, 12:59:53 PM by ReluctantMillennial »

Frugalman19

• Bristles
Re: Target Retirement Date fund or Index fund?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2015, 07:57:27 PM »