Author Topic: Switzerland: How should I buy index funds here?  (Read 201492 times)

Grog

• Bristles
Re: Switzerland: How should I buy index funds here?
« Reply #50 on: August 13, 2014, 04:03:20 AM »
I really don't like dividend in Switzerland, because I don't think they are tax efficient.

First of all, I'm not a tax expert and I my only experience in the field is by reading the tax code and compiling my own taxes. So no guarantee.

Second: as already mentioned multiple times in this forum, there is really no difference between capital gain or dividend: either is the company buying stock back, maintinaing the stock value high, or is distributing dividend, with the consequent falling in value of the stock.

But this is an US forum, and since in the US funds MUST distribute dividend (whereas in EU and CH they can keep it and redistribute it), they are always confronted with dividend. We are not, we can decide not to receive them. And this for us is better, tax-wise. Why?

In the rest of Europe, they have taxes on capital gain. That means that in the end, you are taxed if you recive income or you are taxed if you have capital gain and sell your stock. So no big difference.

In Switzerland, we don't have capital gain taxes. The accumulating fund in which we invest MUST still pay dividend taxes, obviously, but if we invest in a low-yield, high growth index, the fund must only pay taxes for 1.8-2% dividend yield they have.

To be more clear, let's look at an example:

Citizen A has 1 million francs in a dividend strategy portfolio with an annual yield of about 4%.

Citizen B has 1 million francs in a broad diversified accumulating index fund with a yield of 2%.

To keep it simple, let's assume both fund had the same final growth of 104%. That means that fund A at the end of the year will be 1'000'000 chf + 40'000 of distributed dividend, while fund B have 1'040'000 in stocks value.