Author Topic: Strategy for putting monthly Savings into Index Funds  (Read 7838 times)

smoothieking

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Strategy for putting monthly Savings into Index Funds
« on: May 02, 2013, 02:18:18 PM »
Hi All,

Investing newbie here...

I have automatic transfers going into my Vanguard index fund (VFIAX) every Friday and then at the end of the month we manually put any remaining savings in there as well. I guess a type of dollar cost avg with our monthly savings.

We often end up getting to put a decent chunk of extra savings (on top of the auto transfers) at the end of each month.

Lately, I've been following the S&P and on days where the market goes down a decent amount - say .5%-1%, I will put in extra $$ right then and there in an attempt to buy when there is a "sale" or dip in the market.  I'm not trying to time the market in the sense that I am ever selling anything, but I just try to time my purchases.

My question is - is this just silly, should I just increase my auto transfers since we often have more $ to save at the end of each month or do you think this is a decent strategy?

I would be interested in anybody's take on this.

Thanks for your time.

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: Strategy for putting monthly Savings into Index Funds
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 02:26:50 PM »
All you are doing is a combination of DCA and timing the market. If you're method of timing the market is just waiting for a drop... any drop then I guess it isn't really based on emotions but it's not really methodical IMO.

If I were in your shoes and left with an larger than anticipated amount of money at the end of each week for investing then I'd just up my DCA. It removes the emotional swings of watching the stock market (unless that's your thing) and allows you to go on with your life and have fun (again unless that's your thing which lets you have fun and you like watching graphs move).

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 02:52:52 PM »