Author Topic: STOP SAYING IT IS NOT MATHEMATICALLY CORRECT TO PAY OFF YOUR MORTGAGE EARLY!  (Read 85568 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
I feel like any persons greatest asset is their ability to earn more money via labor over anyone's life time especially those of us blue collar white collar workers. So having a solid home in a area where they could easily find another job(even if it's not as high paid) paid off seems like a wonderful position of strength to be in.

Initially, when starting out with nothing, sure.

When you accumulate a stache that can earn more than you can?  No.

For an extreme example: Would you say Bill Gates' greatest asset is his ability to earn money through labor?

Once you get to that point, the "solid home in an area where they can easily find another job" is much less important.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
Cant we let this thread die?  These arguements are so assumption driven.  A good savings rate is what will drive most personal wealth creation, not whether one chooses to save as a stock investment or home equity.  Stop splitting hairs and spend less/invest more.  If someone chooses an asset class slightly less efficient because they are risk adverse, who cares.

Can we at least just all agree "it's not mathematically correct to pay off your mortgage"?

;-)

and riskier to pay it down.

Tap into your crystal ball and tell me what the powerball number will be tonight then. I mean since you know about how risky the market will be in the next few years.