Author Topic: Starting to Manage Wife's IRAs - Advice?  (Read 4664 times)

PimpMyBankAccount

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting to Manage Wife's IRAs - Advice?
« on: December 01, 2014, 05:03:55 PM »
This is cross-posted from our case study as it looks like it's not going to get any more replies, and this is a better forum for it anyway.

My wife has two IRAs currently.  They were previously managed by her dad; we are only beginning to look at them now.  I'm kind of new with investments so please bear with me.

The first (a Roth IRA) is from a settlement from a dog bite as a child, and is actively managed by a financial advisor (to whom I have never talked).  The account is at Schwab.

The financial advisor is charging what appears to be 1%.  We are invested in:

DIISX - ~15% - International Stock Index - Net expense ratio 0.60%
HLEMX - ~65% - Emerging Markets - Net expense ratio 1.46%
PTTDX - ~20% - Intermediate Term Bond - Net expense ratio 0.75%

This seems like an odd mix to me, and the expense ratios are concerning.  I can trade directly through Schwab but it does tell me to "contact my financial advisor" before I do.  This is my wife's IRA and only holds ~$1000.

Would it make sense to do any or all of the following?

- Fire the financial advisor and convert accounts to straight Schwab accounts
- Alternatively, call the financial advisor and seek advice
- Sell out of existing mutual funds
- Switch to something like MMM's asset allocation recommendation (but using equivalent low-cost Schwab funds as they have no trade cost) or a variation on a Couch Potato portfolio, rebalancing every few months

The second account (traditional IRA) is a Principal Bank Safe Harbor IRA, which apparently was an automatic rollover from a previous 401k that she left at an employer.  It appears to have no investments and looks to be a straight savings account, and is apparently being charged $30 / year in fees.

Do these sound like decent plans for the account?