Author Topic: Starting Retirement Investments for the First Time, Need Advice  (Read 3931 times)

Lady Julian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm 30 years old, netting 24K a year (I'm a teacher) and I would like to start my first retirement account with Betterment. Two questions:
  • I'd been planning on going with a Roth IRA, but Betterment also offers something called a taxable retirement account. What is the difference here? I've mostly heard about Roths, so I'm not sure which I should go for?
  • How much money should I put in at once? I have about 18K in an ordinary slush-fund savings account in my bank - Do I put 10K of that in Betterment all at once, since that would move me into a lower fee bracket? Or (and my conservative, risk-averse side prefers this route) should I put in about 5K to start with, see what happens?

This is my very first post - Thanks for your advice!

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
Re: Starting Retirement Investments for the First Time, Need Advice
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2016, 12:28:19 PM »
You should utilize tax advantaged account space you have first. Roth or Traditional IRA, 401k, 403b, 457b. Taxable Brokerage account is the last place you should put money, unless it's your only option. Saving taxes will get you to FI/RE much sooner, than taking all your income home, being taxed on it, and then being taxed on the distributions and trades. You can also open IRA and Taxable accounts and Vanguard, the fees are much much cheaper than Betterment.

Does your school or district not have a 403b or 457b Deferred Compensation Plan?

http://www.madfientist.com/retire-even-earlier/
http://rootofgood.com/make-six-figure-income-pay-no-tax/
« Last Edit: April 22, 2016, 12:31:00 PM by BackyarBQ »

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2016, 12:33:41 PM »
The first thing I would recommend you do, is read the stock series.  http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/ 

That being said -