Author Topic: Starting my Investments for Financial Independence - critique needed  (Read 5718 times)

sublime9528

Hi all,

I wanted to get some feedback on my plan for putting myself on the road to financial independence.  Here's where I stand:

I'm 26, and soon to be engaged to my girlfriend, who is 27.  I'm a 3rd year medical student and she's a 1st year resident.  Her salary is $52k for the next 4-5 years, after which it will go up into the mid-$200k or so.  I'll start earning an income in 2 years, and will likely be earning between $250k-$350k in the next 5-6 years. 

My current assets are:
1) I have gold & silver coins inherited from my grandfather, valued anywhere between 10k and 15k, depending on the price of the metals and the numismatic value of the coins. 
2) I was just gifted $23,000 in stocks to do with as I please that my grandmother, invested in my name when I was a child. 

My plan at the moment is the following:
1) Keep the gold coins, at the very least until I can have them assessed for their numismatic value.  Likely I will hold on to them for the long haul, since I believe that some gold is good for a diversified portfolio.  Obviously, at this point, these coins are a disproportionately huge percentage of my assets, but as my assets grow that % will decrease. 

2) The $23,000 is all Exxon stock.  My plan is to invest that money in the following funds:
$10,000 in the Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTSAX)
$3,000 in Vanguard Equity Income Fund Investor Shares (VEIPX)
$3,000 in Vanguard Emerging Markets Stock Index Fund Investor Shares (VEIEX)
$3,000 in Vanguard Extended Market Index Fund Investor Shares (VEXMX)
$3,000 in Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Investor Shares (VBMFX)
$1,000 in Vanguard Target Retirement 2050 Fund (VFIFX)