Author Topic: Moving from Wells Fargo to Vanguard?  (Read 9583 times)

TryingToBeAGoodDad

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Moving from Wells Fargo to Vanguard?
« on: December 31, 2017, 09:13:54 AM »
Hi,
First time MMM forum post here. I am a novice investor and, besides my poor investment skills, have more or less been living an MMM-style of life before I knew it was a thing. I have a variety of funds sitting in Wells Fargo held accounts recommended and managed by a financial advisor. (Did I mention I am a novice investor?) I'm looking for recommendations for the best plan to get this money out of Wells Fargo and into Vanguard. Most of the WF have done okay this year. Attached is a snapshot of the breakdown.

EFTs are with QQQ and SPLV

MUTUAL FUNDS are with AGTHX, AEPGX, WSTCX

I realize you may need more information than what is provided, but thanks in advance!

Travis

• Magnum Stache
Re: Moving from Wells Fargo to Vanguard?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2017, 09:42:53 AM »
Your financial advisor is a charlatan.  Of the three mutual funds you listed, two have an overall expense ratio of over 6%, and the other has an ER of 2%.  The ETFs don't suck, but they're not spectacular either.  On Tuesday when Vanguard is open for business give them a call.  Tell them you want to open an account and transfer everything in to VSTAX. They'll walk you through it and let you know what paperwork, taxes, or fees might be involved. You don't even need to talk to Wells Fargo yourself.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2017, 09:52:53 AM »
You have about $113k in taxable accounts.  Selling these all at once and moving the cash may cause you to pay substantial capital gains tax.  Figure out what the capital gains are and estimate the tax before you do anything.