Author Topic: Solo 401K help for a newbie  (Read 4380 times)

ChelseaBlair

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Solo 401K help for a newbie
« on: November 17, 2014, 11:05:11 AM »
Hi all! I'm new to this forum, but found MMM earlier this year. I've been frugal and a great saver my whole life, but this year I woke up to actively investing money which I've been quite bad at the last few years (I'm 27, so I've got time..although I wish I started earlier).
My job is in event marketing and I work in the field freelance, but I am hired by large agencies, usually on a 1099. This can vary depending on the company (because I freelance, I work for several companies and sometimes I'm paid as an employee-but never given access to their benefits). This year I worked for one agency on a 9 month contract. The first quarter of the year, I was paid by the company as an employee, but our client requested that we be moved to 1099, which is how I've been getting paid since late March-April. I have filed my taxes as a sole proprietor since I graduated college. Because of the type of work I do, I have never had access to a 401K and I just discovered the Solo 401K. For the last few years, I have been maxing out a Roth IRA for $5,500, but this year I'd like to max out a Solo 401K as well (don't yell at me, but I do have the cash available to move over a lump sum from a high-interest checking account). I am looking to do a traditional 401K at this point (I make less than $60K, so it's my understanding that I'll be eligible for the full tax deduction). I spoke with someone at Vanguard today, and I should be eligible, but looking at the forms, I need an EIN. So now I have to apply for an EIN, etc (I usually use my SS#, but apparently I can't for this) and I'm wanting to verify this with some people who have more experience. Looking at the IRS site regarding applying for an EIN is a bit intimidating.