Author Topic: So much ROTH - do I qualify?  (Read 8501 times)

NWOutlier

• Stubble
So much ROTH - do I qualify?
« on: October 17, 2014, 08:52:10 AM »
Hi Everyone,

Quick question; I've been contributing to my company 401k for 8 years, the whole time they offer a ROTH version, I didn't know... so I switched my 401k to ROTH now...  Question.... if I'm under 181k AGI (Adjusted Gross Income), my wife stays home (single income family).... Are we able to have a ROTH IRA for me and a ROTH IRA for her?

So:

401k ROTH
IRA ROTH - wife
IRA ROTH - Steve

I remember if I had a standard 401k (traditional) I was unable to have a traditional IRA for myself, but I could have traditional for my wife.  All these rules are confusing - so... I like the thought of tax free money, and I want as much of it as I can get my hands on.... plus, when I'm over 70 - I don't want to think about taxes.. (meaning the goal is to live off taxable investments till 70).

let me know.

thanks.

Steve (NWOutlier)

DrF

• Bristles
Re: So much ROTH - do I qualify?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 09:17:59 AM »
Hey Steve,

Yes, you are allowed to have a ROTH for both you and your wife. But, WHY would you switch from a traditional 401k to a ROTH 401k?  You are giving up the tax benefits of the traditional 401k for perceived tax free income when you retire.  There are ways to transfer your traditional 401k to a ROTH IRA after you retire that would keep your taxes extremely low, if not non existent. It seems like you would be in a fairly high tax bracket now, and you could structure it so that you are in a very low bracket when you retire. This would make it easier to do the conversions when in retirement. So, get the tax advantage now by keeping your traditional 401k.

http://www.madfientist.com/traditional-ira-vs-roth-ira/

DrFunk

Cheddar Stacker

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2014, 09:29:01 AM »
Hey Steve,