Author Topic: Small business 401K  (Read 2516 times)

fljason

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Small business 401K
« on: December 11, 2014, 07:19:43 AM »
Hey guys I think this will be the best place to get the answer I’m looking for,
Recently I switched my job from a large corporate office to a 8 person design firm ( I am a landscape architect) the switch made a lot of sense for career and for my sanity, but not the best financial reason. I went from having a really nice 401k with 4% match, to not having a 401k at all, ( the 401k is just sitting and waiting for me to roll it over or whatever with it). 
I want to present the principal of the firm some 401k option and try to get him to sign the company up for a 401k program, what are my options? Why wouldn't a company sign up for a 401k even if they don’t plan on matching anything?
If they do not take the bait with the 401k what are my other options. I already fully fund a Roth IRA through vanguard.
Thanks everyone for your advice and please ask any questions if I have left something important out.

tmac

• Bristles
Re: Small business 401K
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 10:11:16 AM »
I'm currently looking for a retirement plan option for my small business (5 employees, including myself and DH). It's pretty confusing. Some plans require matching, some require that you contribute the same amount to your employees that you contribute for yourself, and some have high administrative requirements. I think. As I said, confusing. If someone could point me in the direction of a low administrative effort, no-required-matching plan, I'd jump on it right away. I really need to call an expert for help, but who would that be who isn't going to try to sell me on something we don't need?

Fallenour

• Stubble
  • RE/PM Investor, P2P lender, Business Owner
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 08:00:30 AM »