Author Topic: Should my wife start an AF simple IRA?  (Read 3335 times)

RecoveringGearhead

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should my wife start an AF simple IRA?
« on: December 23, 2014, 04:44:14 PM »
Hi guys.  I'm not too savy with this and hoping I may be able to get some quick advice.  My wife's employer has decided to offer a 3% match on a simple IRA with american funds.  My default answer was sure, at least we will do the match until we get more debt paid down.  But after some searching around I'm not feeling so sure.  I'm new to looking at this, but it looks like she's offered class A and C funds.  And it sounds like the C is the lesser of the 2 evils for the short term if we can roll it over to something else asap. 

I contribute my employers 4% match into a 401k with prudential, all into vfiax.  Also plan to kick it up once the burning hair dies down.

It sounds like her 3% match is going to get eaten up by fees and I feel like wed be better off by upping my contribution with what I think are smarter options.

We are 34 and 30.  My 401k is right around 38k at the moment.

Any advice would be appreciated.  Again, I am new to looking at this although I've been blindly contributing to my plan for 8 or so years, just recently was looking at it and decided to move it all to vfiax.

Thanks in advance!

RecoveringGearhead

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Should my wife start an AF simple IRA?
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2014, 05:05:26 PM »
Here are a few of the growth and growth/income options.  Now that Im looking at this further, Im not sure why I was reading that the Class C were better if you plan to move it to a more efficient plan as it appears that all of the Class A stuff has outperformed and has a lower exp ratio.

fund, ytd, exp ratio

Class A
Growth
AMCPX, 12.82, 0.7
AGTHX, 9.76, 0.66
ANEFX, 4.79, 0.83

Growth/Income
AMRMX, 13.67, 0.61
AIVSX, 13.08, 0.61
ANCFX, 10.09, 0.63
CWGIX, 4.8, 0.8

Class C
Growth
AMPCX, 11.97, 1.51
GFACX, 8.91, 1.45
ANFCX, 3.96, 1.63

Growth/Income