Author Topic: Should I use Betterment Investments?  (Read 6190 times)

RationalReasoner

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Should I use Betterment Investments?
« on: March 05, 2015, 05:53:48 PM »
I'm rather new to investing. Having recently read MMM's post on Betterment has made me think it's a good option for me. However, some of the people commenting seem to think that a person in a lower tax bracket would not benefit from investing with Betterment because of Tax Loss Harvesting. How can I determine whether this is a good option for me?

My income last year was about 32K and I would like to open a Betterment account with a few thousand to start. Would this be an advantage to me? Thanks.

tj

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Should I use Betterment Investments?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2015, 08:42:04 PM »
Not necessary in a low bracket. Just put it in Vanguard LifeStrategy Growth and let Vanguard take care of managing it for you.

Dodge

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2015, 09:11:54 PM »
Agreed.  Vanguard's LifeStrategy funds are the way to go.  Either way you're with Vanguard, because Betterment will take your money and invest it in Vanguard for you (after adding their own fee).  Skip the middle man.

https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/lifestrategy/#/

innerscorecard

• Pencil Stache
    • Inner Scorecard - Where financial independence, value investing and life meet
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2015, 01:19:13 AM »
Giving money to Betterment is like paying someone to go to Costco to buy groceries for you. The exact same groceries you would have bought yourself. Sure, there are benefits to such an approach. But it doesn't make much economic sense for most people.

RationalReasoner

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2015, 06:03:01 AM »