Author Topic: Seeking best Traditional IRA to reduce taxes owed  (Read 3175 times)

lilliannaomi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Seeking best Traditional IRA to reduce taxes owed
« on: February 22, 2017, 06:52:55 PM »
Due to a few bonuses last year, my Tax Guy says I owe ~$2,500 to the IRS. This is the first time I've ever owed, so this is new territory. He said I can reduce this by ~$1,700 by contributing the max $5,500 to a Traditional IRA for 2016 before the April tax deadline. Can anyone confirm this is correct? I'm on board with opening an IRA, as this seems like as good a time as any to get the ball rolling on retirement accounts. But this is totally new territory for me...

My main question is: what is the best place to open a Traditional IRA? Local bank? Online bank? Are there other good institutions? Do the rates change or are they fixed?

I'm relatively new to MMM, and this is my first post. Thanks in advance for any advice, Mustachians!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 06:54:52 PM by lilliannaomi »

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Seeking best Traditional IRA to reduce taxes owed
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 07:09:32 PM »
The amount you would save on taxes depends on your tax rate. I don't recommend going through a bank; they'll typically offer you an IRA savings account with pitiful interest that will not even keep up with inflation. You should be actually investing this money. Vanguard is a fine place for this.

Blonde Lawyer

• Pencil Stache
    • My Student Loan Refi Story
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 07:56:23 PM »
I could be wrong but I think it also depends on your income.  If you make too much, you don't qualify for a deduction for investing an IRA.  For those that know more on the subject, let me know if I'm wrong!

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 08:27:01 PM »
I'll assume you're paying both Federal and State tax.