Author Topic: Saving for home Loan, where to invest?  (Read 1460 times)

Dyna$ty

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Saving for home Loan, where to invest?
« on: January 09, 2019, 02:50:02 AM »
Hi,

Working on saving for my First home.
Goal: $100,000
Saved so far: $12000
I would like some ideas as to where can I invest those $12000 (Plus $2000 every month) to reach my goal quicker?

Thank you

P.S: I am a total noob at investing. Currently reading the Barefoot investor to learn about financial planning.

COEE

• Pencil Stache
Re: Saving for home Loan, where to invest?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2019, 08:20:43 AM »
It all depends on your risk tolerance.

If you want to go more risky, I'd do this:
In your situation, since you're looking at just at a little longer than a 2 year timeline (3 years and 8 months), I might consider starting with a more conservative stock/bond approach.  Warning: This approach can lose principal value, but can also help accelerate growth as well.  There is risk involved.

Perhaps start with the following until you've reached 40%-50% of your goal
30% US Stock Index fund
70% Short-term bonds

Then do this until you're at 50-60% of your goal
15% US Stock Index fund
85% Short-term bonds

Then you're within 2 years of your goal and I'd buy something like the following:
100% US 1year Tbills or a CD.

Then I'd look at my very short term options in the link below to give me some flexibility in when I use the money.

Write down your plan before you execute it so you don't do something stupid (selling low) if stocks take a downturn.

Or if you're looking for the more conservative approach:
Here is a post I made specifically to address your safer options.  With you're little bit longer timeline than 2 years, I'd also look at short-term Bonds as an option (realizing they can also lose value if not held to duration (usually 2 years or so)).  They are discussed more down-thread in the linked topic.