Author Topic: Russian invasion this weekend? What it means for markets.  (Read 12562 times)

svosavvy

• Stubble
Russian invasion this weekend? What it means for markets.
« on: January 19, 2022, 08:28:10 AM »
Hi All,

I pose this question for group insight on the upcoming geopolitical "train wreck" (word quote-Vladimir Frolov).  I recognize that odds making speculation is maybe a little insensitive to the affected parties as this whole thing will likely cause massive suffering and pain.  I am attempting to place non trivial amounts of capital "strategically" to hedge and/or make a small gain.  I am a wierdo that is intellectually stimulated by this whole chess game.  It almost goes without saying that this is not a financial advice post and I am not an expert. For wargame speculation purposes only.  I am by and large a buy and hold Vanguard 500 long term guy.  I also pray nearly daily for peace throughout the region and for its people.  That being said:

We have heard reports out of Ukraine basically the last year or so that there has been a troop build up of unusual significance on their borders.  We saw toward end of last summer and into the fall strange excuses out of Russia on why they were not supplying the usual gas capacities to Europe as per the usual supply build going into the winter months.  Thus leaving Europe in the lurch gas wise.  We see today the announcement that Fridays bigwig powwow is pretty much the last chance to blow out the fuse on this time bomb.  Do markets on Monday look like crap?  Who knows.