Author Topic: Roth Pipeline Question - Ordinary/Tax-Advantaged Earnings in the same tIRA?  (Read 2272 times)

Rubyvroom

• Bristles
I’m fairly new to investments and have $60K I need to invest. I also have some 401k funds from previous employers that I’d like to rollover into Vanguard funds. Here are a few facts before I get to the questions:

•   My husband and I are in our mid-30s, with forecasted FIRE in the 2020-2022 time frame
•   We will max both our 401k and HSA accounts this year
•   Our income is too high for a deduction on a tIRA
•   We have not contributed to a Roth at all in the past, nor have we contributed in 2016 yet
•   We have no investments other than our tax advantaged 401k and HSA accounts
•   We have $60K in cash (savings) due to thinking we’d buy land that we now have decided not to buy until FIRE

My plan is to contribute $11K into Vanguard Roth accounts for 2016. That leaves $49K cash and the 401k funds from previous employers to sort out.

I’ve read information about how complicated it can become if you comingle after tax dollars (like my remaining $49K in savings) and pre-tax dollars (like my 401k money from previous employers) into one tIRA account that is later converted to a Roth for the Roth pipeline. If I were to invest all of that money in the same tIRA account, will I be creating issues for myself down the road? Would it be better to open two accounts to keep the funds separate (ie, one tIRA for ordinary earnings and one for tax-advantaged earnings)? Or am I getting worked up about nothing?