Author Topic: Roth IRA/Portfolio Withdrawal Questions  (Read 755 times)

cahnerjh96

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA/Portfolio Withdrawal Questions
« on: February 18, 2021, 01:04:19 PM »
Hello all!
My name is Cahner, I am still relatively new to the pursuit of Financial Independence.  There are really only 2 parts of the puzzle that I am having some difficulty understanding. 

First thing is the Roth IRA portion.  I here everybody harping on it and I have opened one specifically following the principles from The Simple Path to Wealth by JL Collins.  It doesn't make sense to me to invest in a Roth IRA if I am planning on retiring well before age 59 1/2. 

Second thing, could someone please enlighten me on the process of actually withdrawing the 4% from your actual portfolio.  My portfolio will be strictly through VTSAX.  I understand that allocation of stocks and bonds, but how do you actually withdrawal the 4% that you would be living off of?  Is it by a monthly basis, annual, what is the process?

Any help is greatly appreciated.  Thank you all so much.

RWD

• Walrus Stache
Re: Roth IRA/Portfolio Withdrawal Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2021, 01:32:31 PM »
Hello all!
My name is Cahner, I am still relatively new to the pursuit of Financial Independence.  There are really only 2 parts of the puzzle that I am having some difficulty understanding.
Welcome!

First thing is the Roth IRA portion.  I here everybody harping on it and I have opened one specifically following the principles from The Simple Path to Wealth by JL Collins.  It doesn't make sense to me to invest in a Roth IRA if I am planning on retiring well before age 59 1/2. 
You can withdraw contributions to a Roth IRA at any age. Only the gains have to wait. There are also ways to get money out of pre-tax retirement type accounts before the usual "retirement age." See this sticky thread for more info: