Author Topic: Roth IRA Help for a Youngin'  (Read 10822 times)

SheepInWolfsClothing

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Joannie Thunder
Roth IRA Help for a Youngin'
« on: January 27, 2014, 10:12:16 PM »
Hi guys,

Soooooo...I have a bit of extra cash in the bank. I'm a college student who is lucky enough to have good parents who allow me to save pretty much all my money that I make from internships and jobs at school. I am tired of watching it all just sit there in the bank. I want to put this money to good use. So I thought investing in a Roth IRA would be a good start!

I've done some research, and also gone to a financial advisor. He recommended to me that I max out for 2013 before April rolls around and put it all into this thing called and ING Select Advantage IRA. Here is the website on it, mainly it just talks about the kinds of stuff they wont tack on fees for, and it looks pretty good to me...?: http://ing.us/individuals/products-services/annuities/select-advantage-ira

I know Mr. Money Mustache is not a fan of managed funds, but the arguments for this mutual fund seem ok. I figured this might be a good place to start, and then also invest in the Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund as well, but not as an IRA, just for funzies. Also maybe the S&P. Why not have both...right?

Mr. Financial Advisor man told me to invest in these guys within my Roth IRA. I don't know how much this will help/how much people care but here's a list:

Janus Overseas Fund R class
Oppenheimer Developing Markets Fund N class
American Funds The Growth of America F-1 class
American Funds Washington mutual investors Fun F-1 class
Eaton Vance Atlanta Capital SMID-Cap Fund R class
Royce Total Return Fund R class
Ivy Small Cap Growth Fund R class