Author Topic: Roth IRA allocation advice  (Read 2523 times)

bittheory

• Stubble
Roth IRA allocation advice
« on: July 21, 2015, 12:46:08 PM »
Hey Mustacians,
I'm looking for some allocation advice for my Roth IRA. Right now it's about 50/50 between STAR and an age-targeted retirement fund. STAR was the recommended fund I went with when I opened the acct in 2012. I honestly never thought to change it, but the more I research, the more I realize I need to switch some things up.

I have been good about maxing contributions to my SIMPLE plan, but not my Roth, so my plan is to max it out this and every year from now on. I am a complete investing novice. And that's where you guys come in: How do I make this money, and the future money I contribute, work to my benefit with the right mix of funds?

STATS:
$20K in Roth.
32 years old.

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Re: Roth IRA allocation advice
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 12:58:54 PM »
Is your Roth at Vanguard?  Because the STAR fund and a target-fund are OK choices for an investing novice.  Not to say you couldn't do this cheaper, but you could definitely do worse.

You need an investing policy statement.  http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Investment_policy_statement.  Basically:

1.  Pick your asset allocation
2.  Find funds that meet your target asset allocation at a low cost
3.  Invest diligently, rebalance periodically back to your target allocation

Do you like the 60-40 stock-bond split of the STAR fund?  You could get into Life-Strategy Conservative Growth, and it would be a bit cheaper.  Or put it all into your target-date fund, which if it is a Vanguard target-date fund likely has a lower expense ratio.  Cheaper still would be to use Total Stock / Total International Stock and Total Bond to make a 3 fund portfolio.  With 20K, you'd likely need at least 50% in Total Stock Market to get admiral shares to make this significantly cheaper than the Life-Strategy or target-retirement.

bittheory