Author Topic: Roth 401K at my work  (Read 5258 times)

D Bopp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth 401K at my work
« on: February 11, 2015, 07:14:06 PM »
I've been contributing to my 401K plan for the past 3 years at my current job.  We have the option of contributing to the regular 401K or a roth 401K.   We had a guy come in yesterday from the company managing our plans. I asked him some direct questions about contributions, but he didn't seem very confident with his answers and had to google a few while we were talking.

My questions are:
Is the max contribution to the Roth 401K $18,000, just like the regular 401K? And also, can I also contribute to a separate Roth IRA account outside of the Roth 401K?

My other question was: Can I pull the principle out of my Roth 401K before the standard retirement age? I think it's 55.

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Roth 401K at my work
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 07:19:03 PM »
Following.

I have no idea whatsoever. Sorry.

D Bopp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 07:23:17 PM »
He told me that I can contribute up to the $18,000 in the Roth 401K, and I could not pull the principle out early before retirement age.

He also said the Roth 401K would not have anything to do with my separate Roth IRA as far as contribution limits.

He may be correct, but I wanted to find out from here also.

minimalist

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2015, 07:24:07 PM »
Yes to both of your first questions.

You can rollover your Roth 401k contributions to a Roth IRA and withdraw the principle before retirement age per standard Roth IRA rules (five year rule, home purchase, etc).

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2015, 07:25:09 PM »