Author Topic: Revisiting employer 401(k) fund options  (Read 5503 times)

RumbleKittie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Revisiting employer 401(k) fund options
« on: January 16, 2014, 12:09:02 PM »
I'm a newbie investor now. However, I was a completely ignorant investor when I first started my job 6 years ago. So when I had to set up my 401(k), I used one of the "GoalManager" options. It was the "Moderate-to-Agressive" model that reallocates to 80% stock and 20% bonds every quarter. Now, that I'm educating myself, I decided to see what I actually had and if there were any better alternatives.

My current "GoalManager" holdings are split up this way:
Fund NameSymbolOwnedExpensesTurnover
Hartford Dividend & Growth R5HDGTX
17%
0.75%
30%
Thornburg International Value R5TIVRX
13%
0.96%
35%
Mainstay Large Cap Growth IMLAIX
13%
0.77%
74%
Oakmark International IOAKIX
12%
0.98%
37%
JHancock Disciplined Value Mid Cap IJVMIX
9%
0.93%
55%
Victory Small Company Opportunity IVSOIX
6%
0.98%
56%
Columbia Acorn ZACRNX
6%
0.78%
16%
Lord Abbett Developing Growth ILADYX
4%
0.76%
202%
MFS Government Securities R4MFGJX
9%
0.62%
?
Delaware Corporate Bond InstDGCIX
11%
0.68%
230%

I'm thinking of changing it to this:
Fund NameSymbolWill OwnExpensesTurnover
Columbia Large Cap Index ZNINDX
40%
0.19%
7%
Columbia Small Cap Index ZNMSCX
20%
0.2%
17%
Blackrock International Index InstlMAIIZ
20%
0.34%
21%
MFS Government Securities R4MFGJX
10%
0.62%
?
Delaware Corporate Bond InstDGCIX
10%
0.68%
230%

I feel a little insecure about this plan of action for a few reasons:
  • It seems like I'm missing Mid Cap coverage.
  • I have no idea what to do with the bonds, so I just left it the same.
  • The new allocation percentages amongst Large Cap, Small Cap, & International are pretty much out of my bum.

The other options available to me are:
Fund NameSymbolExpensesTurnover
T. Rowe Price Dividend GrowthMAGCX
1.02%
73%
BlackRock Long-Horizon Equity InstlMAEGX
0.98%
11%
Columbia Seligman Comms & Info ZCCIZX
1.12%
61%