Author Topic: Retirement Contributions  (Read 2501 times)

HCL_06

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Retirement Contributions
« on: October 09, 2017, 11:10:22 PM »
Greetings All,

I am new to the community. I just stumbled upon this blog while trying to do some financial research. I have recently started pursuing the goal of early retirement without realizing there was a whole community full of valuable knowledge.

I am a recent graduate, age 25, that just started my first full time job. I setup my retirement a few months ago just picking a few different mutual funds and allocation funds without much thought and making to the minimum contribution to get the maximum employer match.

I have recently read a lot about Vanguard and VTSAX and remember there were some Vanguard options through my retirement. So I checked to see what options I have. I don't have VTSAX as an option but came across one called the Vanguard Employee Benefit Index which is passively managed and tracks the S&P 500. It jumped out to me with an expense Ratio of 0.01%, but I don't want my decision to based solely on expense ratio. Is anyone familiar with this Index? I am thinking of switching my contributions to this Index.

Other options include Vanguard Extended Market Index (VEMPX) (ER 0.05%), Vanguard Primecap Core Fund (VPCCX) (ER 0.46%), Vanguard Developed Market Index Fund (VTMNX) (ER 0.06%), Vanguard Explorer Fund (VEXRX) (ER 0.34%), and Vanguard Target Retirement Trust Select (0.05%), as well as some other Funds/Indexes with expense ratios around 1%. 

I am looking to increase my contribution % and adjust my allocations for my 401k. Would it be best to spread it out over multiple choices or focus on one or two?

Any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated.
Thanks!   
« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 11:33:50 PM by HCL_06 »

Monkey Uncle

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Retirement Contributions
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 04:50:03 AM »