Author Topic: Rethinking the 4 percent rule  (Read 13189 times)

tomsang

• Handlebar Stache

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Rethinking the 4 percent rule
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 01:56:33 PM »
Thanks for the link.

Yes, many of us here are skeptical of the 4% rule.  If nothing else, I think one ought not blindly draw down the same amount (plus inflation) if the market is down, but be flexible with spending when possible.

Wade Pfau is the most prominent current researcher on the topic of SWRs, his blog is worth reading and following if you're into retirement withdrawal research (and his recent conclusions are along similar lines as the linked article, but with more data).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Nords

• Magnum Stache
    • Military Retirement & Financial Independence blog
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2013, 08:17:46 PM »
I think when you're young(er), reasonably well employed, and reasonably happy with your work/life balance, then everyone focuses on the 5%-33% failure rate of the 4% SWR.

When you're old(er), facing reduced hours or a layoff, desperately unhappy with workplace stress, and perhaps the survivor of a medical/family health crisis or two... that 67%-95% success rate starts lookin' pretty good.  Especially if you know how to annuitize a portion of your retirement portfolio and vary your spending as required.