Author Topic: Regular 403(b) or Roth 403(b)?  (Read 4392 times)

Nutso

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Regular 403(b) or Roth 403(b)?
« on: July 21, 2017, 02:06:19 PM »
Hey guys,

I created this topic back in 2015 and thanks to the guys who helped out, I'm doing good. I would like to hear your advice for this time around.

For those who want to see my old topic - https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/recovering-after-shooting-myself-in-the-foot/msg668575/#msg668575

Background
I'm a 38 y/o IT professional who just started a telecommuting job for a non-profit organization. I will be getting my 1st paycheck on August 1st. I will be maxing out on contributing to my HSA and retirement plan for 2017. I'm aware that I won't get much on my paycheck but it should stabilize in 2018. I moved out to Columbus, OH from Bay Area, California.

Asset Overview
  • No Debt
  • $450 a month for Rent with utilities included
  • Job - $2,884.62 bi-weekly
  • HSA - $3,000 Annually (company will contribute $650) This will be my first HSA setup
  • Liquid (Checking/Savings): $55K
  • Fidelity Roth 401K: $154K - stopped contributing since I got laid off back in 2013
  • Vanguard Roth IRA: $100K - Still contributing
  • State of California's Calpers Retirement Fund: $4,500 - Will need to roll this over
Total: $314K approx.

Investment Overview
  • Fidelity Roth 401K: 100% in VANG IS TL STK MK IP (VITPX)
  • Vanguard Roth IRA: 100% in Vanguard Target Retirement 2045 Fund (VTIVX)

Questions
  • My company offers two retirement plans - Regular 403(b) and Roth 403(b) - which one should I go with?
My initial reaction was to go with Regular 403(b) but had 2nd thoughts as I already have Roth 401k fund. Stay with Roth 403(b) to make my life easier?

• Which plan should I roll over my Calpers fund to?
  • Which fund should I go with for my retirement plan?
American Funds US Government MMkt R6-RAFXX-US Fund Money Market - Taxable-0.34%