Author Topic: Recovering after shooting myself in the foot...  (Read 13788 times)

Nutso

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Recovering after shooting myself in the foot...
« on: May 16, 2015, 02:24:58 PM »
Background
I'm a 35 y/o IT professional looking to get out of IT industry. I was laid off from my job back in 2013, and I've been through random odd jobs since then. Now I have two jobs here in Bay Area, Cali. I work for the State as IT pro (salary) and Business Account Executive for a small company (hourly). I'm hoping to make a transition to the small company and make it a salary position as I am done with IT industry.

Now I'm sure that you're confused about the subject, in my previous job, I was making bank and I tried to get ahead in saving for retirement by investing in IRA Roth and 401K Roth. But after reading http://www.gocurrycracker.com/turbocharge-savings/ I just did the opposite whereas I should have went with Traditional IRA/401k. D'ooooh!

So I'm asking for advice on what can I do now from this point forward.

Asset Overview
  • No Debt
  • Currently sleeping in my car. Yes I'm that frugal. :-)
  • State job - $5,047 monthly - $3,595 after taxes
  • Hourly job - $20 an hour - $2,800ish after taxes monthly
  • Liquid (Checking/Savings): $15K
  • Fidelity 401K Roth: $128K - stopped contributing since I got laid off
  • Vanguard Roth IRA: $74.1K - Still contributing
Total: $217K approx.

Investment Overview
  • Fidelity 401K Roth: 100% in Janus Balanced Fund Class N (JABNX)
  • Vanguard Roth IRA: 100% in Vanguard Target Retirement 2045 Fund (VTIVX)

Questions
  • Change up my investing or just keep what I'm doing as I'm already in it deep?
  • If keep doing it, what's my 401k alternatives? (the small company's benefits is crappy so need an alternative anyway)
  • Leave my 401K Roth alone or roll it over to somewhere else?
  • What to do when I'm between jobs? I usually find a way of getting income. Keep investing or just hold off?