Author Topic: Realize 200% stock gains or...?  (Read 4240 times)

Mr.GrowingMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Realize 200% stock gains or...?
« on: September 06, 2016, 07:16:34 AM »
Hey all,
So I am in a predicament that we all want to be in, one of my stocks (AMD) has gained about 200% profit. I have been sitting on AMD for about 1-2 years, and as you know recently it exploded. I've made about $5k in gains \0/

I thought about selling half the shares at 40% gain, than at 100% gains.... only to hold out to see 200% gains!

Am I Getting greedy in keeping it? I definitely am! But the same has hapened with Amazon and Netflix, I dumped them on like 30-40% gains, only to see them explode over 100-200% gains lol

I have been thinking of selling half of the shares.

What would you do, why?

Financial.Velociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Devour your prey raptors!
    • Living Universe Foundation
Re: Realize 200% stock gains or...?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 09:25:08 AM »
I'd go with a trailing stop loss.  Lock in most of your gains but leave a winner room to run.

tonysemail

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2016, 09:55:31 AM »
Do you know something about AMD that the market doesn't?
I'd take the gains and run. 

Mr.GrowingMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2016, 10:47:46 AM »

I'd go with a trailing stop loss.  Lock in most of your gains but leave a winner room to run.

That is a great alternative! I might actually do this! Thanks!

dougules

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2016, 11:02:04 AM »
I had Weight Watchers stock because I was using their app.  When I switched over to Myfitnesspal I decided to sell the WTW stock.  The stock was up ~50%, but since I hadn't had it quite a year I decided to wait until it would be counted as long term capital gains.  Bad move.  It crashed right after that. 

I'd say sell it now.  Although if you sell, where do you plan to put the $?  Index funds or is this just play money?

jjcamembert