Author Topic: Reader request: Primer on investing?  (Read 5519 times)

AmyS

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader request: Primer on investing?
« on: July 29, 2017, 11:29:30 AM »
Newbie here - I've read through all of the MMM blog and lurked a lot here on the fora. I'd like more information about investing. When I read (here, MMM blog and elsewhere) about it, I find myself opening lots of browser tabs to get definitions of terms and abbreviations. Unfortunately, I then find that I need a definition of the definition.

Does anyone have a bare-bones, "don't know nuthin' 'bout the subject, help!" resource to explain the concept, nature, and some specifics, of investing?

I have a specific question about an American Funds IRA that I would like to do something with, but I don't even know what the question is exactly since I don't understand exactly what I have or what I should be doing with it. I do understand that it is a private, non-company-provided retirement fund that supposedly does good things for my taxes in some way until age either 59.5 or 70, but beyond that I'm not sure what it is. I received it in a settlement so I'm happy to have it of course.

At this point, though, I'm not interested so much in starting a topic on the Case Studies forum as I am in learning the basics. I probably actually need to start with "What is Wall Street?" I know its origin history, but not its current function except that it has to do with money in a big way. Probably mine?

Thanks in advance for any resources for an interested but clueless newbie.

FIKris

• Stubble
Re: Reader request: Primer on investing?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 01:39:53 PM »
If you aren't getting what you need here from MMM, you might try something like Learnvest.

aperture

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2017, 01:47:07 PM »
If you have been around a while, you should have encountered Jim Collin's web site and book: